Scott Mason is an industrial designer whose work includes furniture, interior design, consumer products, toys, and exhibits, as well as computer illustration and animation. He is a four-time winner of Interior Design magazine's Best of Year Merit Award (2006, 2007, 2008 and 2010), and was selected in a nationwide competition to represent U.S. furniture designers at the 2011 International Famous Furniture Fair in China. Mason is the Director of Design for David Edward Co., a Baltimore-based contemporary furniture manufacturer, which produces his award-winning Aspen and Serengeti furniture lines. Mason's love for drawing cars as a child led him to study painting and design, and a MOMA lamp his parents gave him as a gift inspired him to study the great midcentury modernists. His work continues to be influenced by the clean modernist designs of Henry Bertoia, Eero Saarinen, and Alvar Aalto, as well as contemporary architect Maya Lin and sculptor Richard Serra. After earning a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Design at the University of Bridgeport in Connecticut, Mason designed consumer products, medical and scientific instruments, and toys for a variety of industrial design firms in New York and Connecticut. He later served as the exhibit designer for the National Aquarium in Baltimore before moving to Houston to produce designs, computer illustrations, and animation for an industrial design firm consulting for NASA. His work featuring the space agency's Space Shuttle, experimental spacecraft, and the International Space Station has appeared on NBC's Nightline, CNN, and The Discovery Channel, and has been published by Popular Science, Space News, and Ad Astra. Before joining David Edward, Mason worked as a furniture designer for the Washington, D.C.-based Hall of Fame designer Debra Lehman-Smith, and developed the LSM guest chair to complement the LSM furniture line. Mason, who lives with his family in Washington, DC, is past Chair of the Mid-Atlantic Chapter of the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA), and continues to serve the chapter as Vice Chair.